My Opinion on Kat Von D Cosmetics.

I’ve been using this brand for a long long time, so over the years, I’ve developed a very unique opinion on this brand. I also really enjoy doing these kinds of posts, so I figured I would make another one of these on a brand I’m really familiar with. So in this post, I’m gonna talk about some of my favorite and least favorite products from Kat Von D Cosmetics, and how I feel about their brand and how they treat their customers as a whole.

(P.s. Before I start, everyone has different brands they do and don’t like, and just because I don’t like a certain brand doesn’t mean that you can’t or that you liking that brand is wrong. Everyone has different opinions, and this is just mine.)

 

katvondlogo

 

1. Kat Von D Lock-it Tattoo Foundation

lock it foundationI know I’ve already written a post about this foundation, but it’s just so amazing that I wanna talk about it again. When I tried this product, it gave me an amazing flawless base for the rest of my makeup, it had such amazing coverage that when I use it, I barely even have to use any concealer on top of it. I really love how full coverage it is, it doesn’t get at all cake through out the day, and I also really appreciate that it doesn’t sink into my pores, making my makeup look patchy. I honestly would recommend this foundation to anybody and everybody, but I think that this foundation is really good for people who have acne prone skin, because my skin didn’t find this foundation at all irritating, which is a common problem for me. I’ve started incorporating this foundation into my daily makeup routine, and I definitely would buy this product again.

 

2. The Lock-it Color Correcting Eyeshadow Primer

Kat-Von-D-Lock-It-Color-Correcting-Eyeshadow-Primer-review-2-670x511I’ve never really been one for eyeshadow primers, but recently I had decided to try out Kat Von D’s lock-it color correcting eyeshadow primer in the shade fair. I had heard good things about it from some of my friends, but I was very sadly disappointed to this product. This product made my eyeshadow crease extremely easily, and multiple times throughout a day. It also made my eyeshadow have a cakey look to it that was just off putting to me. In my experience, this product can be very dry, and doesn’t help your eyeshadow to last and look good like it should.

 

3. Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

tattoo linerAs all of you probably know by now, I’m an extremely big eyeliner fan, I love eyeliner, I love wearing it, I love trying out new eyeliners, and I love doing cat eye and winged eyeliner looks. I tried this eyeliner a few months ago, and I definitely had high hopes for this eyeliner, its always hyped up as one of the top eyeliners in existence. I will say I really love this eyeliner, however, I don’t think that it’s the best eyeliner I’ve ever tried though. I really loved that this was a felt tip eyeliner, I feel like this type of eyeliner always gives me the best looking wings. I thought the pigment of the eyeliner was really good, and I liked how dark black it was, I also really appreciated that the eyeliner didn’t bleed into surrounding areas once its applied. My only real complaint about this eyeliner is that the felt tip was too flexible, making it hard to control when applying wings at times.

 

4. Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Palette

Kat-Von-D-Shade-Light-Contour-Palette-openI really really love this contour palette. It is absolutely one of the best contour palettes I have ever used, and I can honestly say that its the only one I ever wanna use. This contour palette is very versatile, and the shades are extremely blendible for an effortless subtle and natural contour. I also really like that the contour doesn’t look muddy or get patchy when it is blended out, which is a problem I’ve had with a lot of contour palettes I’ve tried. This palette can also be good for when you want a more dramatic, sharp, and bold contour, as the contour shades in this palette are very buildable, while still looking blended and flawless.

 

5. Unlock-It Makeup Remover Wipe

makeup wipesI’m always looking for a good pack of makeup wipes, so a few months ago, I tried out this pack of makeup wipes form Kat Von D. Honestly, I found these makeup wipes very disappointing. The makeup wipes dried out extremely quickly, and I also felt as if they were causing my skin to dry out as well. I also was really worried after using this product because my face felt itchy after using it, and my eyes started burning from the ingredients in these makeup wipes. I don’t really know if this is a common problem that everyone has or maybe its because I have very sensitive skin and its just not a product that works for me, but either way I don’t really recommend this product to anybody.

 

6. Kat Von D Metal Matte Eyeshadow Palette

Kat-Von-D-Metal-Matte-Palette5This is one of my all time favorite eyeshadow palettes, it has a perfect combination of mattes and shimmery metallics that compliment each other. The pigmentation of all of the mattes is beautiful, and the metallics are extremely pigmented, especially for them being shimmers. The eyeshadows were all very blendible, and I didn’t have a problem with the eyeshadows creasing or not lasting throughout the day. I really love all of the colors in the palette, I thought it contained a good range of neutrals and bolder shadows, that could work for any makeup wearer. I honestly would recommend this palette to anyone, as its very good quality, and it also is a very versatile palette that can make a huge spectrum of beautiful eyeshadow looks.

 

7. The Alchemist Holographic Palette

kat-von-d-alchemist-holographic-palette-swatches-reviewI decided to try out this highlighting palette sometime after it came it out. I did notice that it was very very similar to my ABH Moonchild Glow Kit, but I decided to try it out anyways. I did side by side swatches of the palettes and they were extremely similar in quality and color. I will say that Kat Von D’s highlighting palette did seem to have holographic layers that illuminated differently than ABH’s Moonchild palette. Despite the similarities, I think that Kat Von D’s palette is a very good quality, these highlighters look beautiful in the light, and I loved the packaging of this product. Personally though, I probably wouldn’t purchase this palette again, but thats just because I already have highlighters very similar.

 

8. Customer Relations

kvd youtubeI really love Kat Von D, I’ve only ever seen instances of her treating her fans kindly and with respect, and I also really love that she shares swatches and her early product sketches and designs on her social media platforms. In her youtube channel, she often shows the huge amount of work she puts into her brand and her products. I think she’s a really amazing person, who really cares about her customers.

 

My overall opinion on Kat Von D and her brand is pretty good, I think that most of the time she makes good quality products, and she treats her customers respectfully. There were some products that didn’t work for me, but I really love a lot of the products she puts out.

You can check out my last Opinion on Anastasia Beverly Hills here: (https://kitteniscuteblog.wordpress.com/2017/05/01/my-opinion-on-anastasia-beverly-hills/)

Leave a Reply

